Day 7: We are fucking tired, and oh, Lima 

I need to figure out if sleeplessness is a symptom of altitude sickness. I slept for a good 3-4 hours and I wasn’t coughing as much but I still kept waking up every few hours for some reason. I woke up at 3 am, 3:30 am, and 4 am. At that point I just decided it was futile to try and sleep so I just laid in bed waiting for the alarm.

We said goodbye to Cusco and found out that the mural we saw last night was painted in 1993 and was the artists rendering of the history of the Incan people/empire in Cusco. It truly is gorgeous–I hope my photos come out (it was dark and there were hard angles to shoot on a busy street that I was running in the middle of to get a decent shot).

Now we are on our way back to Lima where today our plan is to see the Cathedral de San Francisco and walk to the ocean. This is how amazing we look/feel right now on the plane to Lima.


Yes, we are having an amazing time. Yes, we are both extremely grateful for this trip. But Jesus we are fucking tired. I would give anything to transport myself into my own bed in my own house, with my kittens for an hour or two–and then finish the trip well rested. But that shit don’t exist so we will just power through it and be grateful for what we have.

So Lima is a very large city. The large metro area is about 10 million people. And it feels like it. Traffic isn’t as bad as Delhi but you still have aggressive drivers on steroids making right hand turns from middle lanes cutting off people going straight. It’s less chaotic than India but you probably could t pay me to drive there.

So after another flight and a longer than usual trip to the hotel that was stressful just sitting in the back seat we decided to nap. Despite blowing off the day we had planned we still got it together enough to don dresses and go out to eat at a recommended restaurant. Al Fresco.

Grilled tuna medium rare in a coconut lime sauce with perfectly cooked asparagus. Also, triad of ceviche with three different types of sauce. Cilantro lime, olive oil, and a curry-ish sauce. 

The food was so amazing it made us immediately forget our guilt from blowing off our plans and we went back to the hotel to nosh on dessert and figure out how to repack our luggage/carry-ons with all the crap we bought in Cusco (which actually wasn’t that much but considering we were pushing the Spirit carry-on in the first place)…

And I slept. Solidly all through the night (as far as I can recall and that is all that matters).

Leave a Reply

